• español
  • deutsch
  • english

Heart of the island, centre of the world and home of giants…

 

by Jürgen Mayer

The greatest have always lived in Sineu. Giants. Around 2000 years before Christ they built with their own hands the stone monuments called talayots, using incredibly heavy rocks. And what about this: In 1718, behind the church under a gravestone with unknown characters, the skeleton of one of these tall giants was found – three metres big!

 

Nowadays the skeleton and gravestone have disappeared, vanished. And neither has anyone ever seen the axle which keeps our world balanced. Nevertheless the elder Sineuers are absolutely convinced that the axle lies right under their church. It has to be that way. After all, Sineu is the centre of the world. „The burden, all the responsibility for the world’s balance thus lies on us“, they say in Sineu.

 

The town’s biggest treasure is its history.

 

It goes without saying that this story belongs in the realm of myths. But it explains why the Sineuers are so proud. The town’s biggest treasure is its history. For forty years – from 1309 until 1349 – Sineu was the capital of Majorca. At the time king Jaume II ordered that the royal residence should be within easy reach of all citizens and Sineu in the centre of Majorca was just the right place. When the king also granted the village market rights, Sineu became the centre for business and trade. Today the Wednesday market is still the biggest farmers’ market on the island. The spring fair „Sa Fira“ on the first Sunday of May has always attracted more visitors than any other on Majorca, for more than 700 years.

 

Nowhere on the island is Majorca more authentic than here. Nowhere is the history more alive than in Sineu. Strolling through the old alleys of Sineu

you will find traces of history with every step you take. This ambience is particularly noticeable on an August evening when the sweltering heat has eased off and the shadows of the old stone houses have grown long. In this light it seems as though the many crosses and wells in the narrow streets want to bear witness of Sineu’s rich past on every corner.

 

During these evening hours the parish church Santa Maria looks even mightier than in the sharp light of the afternoon, and the bell tower appears to be higher. Seven bells call for mass. In front of the church „El Leòn“, the winged lion, guards the city arms of Sineu. It represents St. Mark, the village’s patron saint, and it holds the city arms firmly in its front paws.

 

Only two alleys away the old palace of the king stands at the top of the village. Nuns have lived there for 400 years, to this very day. And the former convent of the Minims today houses the town hall. Behind its walls you can find a cloister from the 16th century, one of the most beautiful cloisters of Spain.

 

To this day Sineu hasn’t lost any of its old charm. This is where the heart of the island beats. Here you will find an unusual amount of restaurants, bars and cafes. And visitors always want to come back. From all parts of the island. After all, in Sineu you are right in the middle of the island. And right in the middle of Majorca’s history.

 

Jürgen Mayer
born in 1964, Moderator (WDR2, Inselradio), journalist, author, speaker, has lived in Sineu for 9 years.
www.juergenmayer.de

• español
  • deutsch
  • english

Herz der Insel, Mittelpunkt der Welt und Heimat der Riesen…

 

von Jürgen Mayer

In Sineu haben schon immer die Größten gelebt. Riesen. Um 2.000 vor Christi haben sie eigenhändig die tonnenschweren Steinplatten zu den talayots aufgebaut, zu den Steintürmen. Und dann auch noch das: 1718 hat man, unter einem Grabstein mit unbekannten Schriftzeichen, hinter der Kirche das Skelett eines dieser alten Riesen gefunden – drei Meter groß!

 

[column size="1-2" last="0" style="1"]

Heute sind das Skelett und der Grabstein verschwunden, unsichtbar. Und auch die Achse, die unsere Welt im Gleichgewicht hält, hat noch niemand gesehen. Trotzdem sind die alten Sineuers fest davon überzeugt, dass diese Achse direkt unter ihrer Kirche liegt. So muss es sein. Schließlich ist Sineu der Mittelpunkt der Welt. „All die Last, all die Verantwortung für das Gleichgewicht der Welt, liegt also auf uns“, sagt man in Sineu.

 

Der größte Schatz der Stadt ist ihre Vergangenheit.

 

Auch diese Geschichte gehört freilich ins Reich der Mythen. Aber auch sie erklärt, warum die Sineuers so stolz sind. Der größte Schatz der Stadt ist ihre Vergangenheit. Vierzig Jahre lang – von 1309 bis 1349 – war Sineu die Hauptstadt Mallorcas. König Jaume II befahl damals, der Königssitz müsse für alle Untertanen gut erreichbar sein. Sineu im Zentrum Mallorcas bot sich dafür geradezu an. Als der König der Stadt auch noch das Marktrecht verlieh, wurde Sineu zum Mittelpunkt für Wirtschaft und Handel. Noch heute ist der Mittwochsmarkt der größte Bauernmarkt der Insel. Noch immer zieht „Sa Fira“, der Frühlingsmarkt am ersten Sonntag im Mai, so viele Besucher an wie kein zweiter auf Mallorca – und das seit mehr als 700 Jahren.

 

Nirgendwo auf der Insel ist Mallorca authentischer als hier. Nirgendwo ist die Vergangenheit dieser Insel lebendiger als in Sineu. Bei einem Spaziergang durch

[/column]

[column size="1-2" last="1" style="1"]

Sineus alte Gassen spürt man auf Schritt und Tritt Geschichte. Besonders beeindruckend ist diese Atmosphäre an einem Abend im August, wenn die Gluthitze des Tages nachgelassen hat und die Schatten der alten Steinhäuser lang geworden sind. Die vielen Kreuze und Brunnen in den Gassen wirken in diesem Licht, als wollten sie an jeder Ecke einen neuen Beweis für die reiche Vergangenheit Sineus erbringen.

 

In diesen Abendstunden wirkt die Pfarrkirche Santa Maria noch mächtiger als im grellen Mittagslicht und der Glockenturm noch höher. Sieben Glocken rufen hier zum Gottesdienst. „El León“, der Löwe mit den Flügeln, wacht vor der Kirche auf das Wappen Sineus. Er stellt den heiligen Markus dar, den Schutzpatron des Dorfes, und er hält das Wappen fest in seiner Vorderkralle.

 

Nur zwei Gassen entfernt, an der höchsten Stelle des Dorfes, liegt der alte Königspalast. Seit 400 Jahren leben dort Ordensschwestern. Bis heute. Und im früheren Paulanerkloster findet man heute das Rathaus. Hinter den Mauern findet man einen Kreuzgang aus dem 16. Jahrhundert –  einer der schönsten Spaniens.

 

Bis heute hat Sineu nichts von seiner alten Faszination verloren. Hier schlägt das Herz der Insel. Hier findet man ungewöhnlich viele Restaurants, Bars und Cafes. Und die Gäste kommen immer wieder gerne nach Sineu zurück. Aus allen Teilen der Insel. Schließlich ist man in Sineu genau in der Mitte der Insel. Und mitten in der Geschichte Mallorcas.

 

[/column]

 

FacebookGoogle+EmailTwitter

Jürgen Mayer
Jahrgang 1964, Moderator (WDR2, Inselradio), Journalist, Autor, Sprecher, lebt seit 9 Jahren in Sineu.
www.juergenmayer.de